About AAPMR Banner

About Us


Awards & Honors

Each year, AAPM&R takes time to honor pioneering physiatrists, clinicians, researchers, and public servants who have made significant contributions to both the specialty and to people with disabilities. These awards are presented during the AAPM&R Annual Assembly.​​​​

Award Descriptions

Past Award Recipients

2016 Award Recipients


Frank H. Krusen, MD, Lifetime Achievement Award

Bruce M. Gans, MD, MS

Gans Headshot 030216

Distinguished Member Award

Walter R. Frontera, MD, PhD

Walter Frontera

Distinguished Clinician Award

Cindy B. Ivanhoe, MD

Dr. Ivanhoe -  B_9  picture in labcoat

Stanley J. Myers, MD

Stanley Myers

Thomas K. Watanabe, MD

Thomas Watanabe MD

Distinguished Public Service Award

Edward R. Laskowski, MD

Edward Laskowski

Jeffrey G. Randle, MD

Jeffrey Randle

PASSOR Legacy Award and Lectureship

Joanne Borg-Stein, MD

Joanne Borg Stein Headshot

AAPM&R Outstanding Council Service Awards

Central Nervous System Rehabilitation Council

Lisa A. Lombard, MD

Lombard MD Lisa

General and Medical Rehabilitation Council

David Berbrayer, MD

e Dr David Berbrayer 2

Musculoskeletal Medicine Council

Thiru Annaswamy, MD, MA

Annaswamy, Thiru coat&tie Jun 2, 2016

Pain Medicine/Neuromuscular Medicine Council

Anthony E. Chiodo, MD


Pediatric Rehabilitation/Developmental Disabilities Council

Amy J. Houtrow, MD, PhD, MPH


2016 AAPM&R Awards Committee

  • Darryl L. Kaelin, MD, Chair
  • David L. Bagnall, MD
  • Douglas A. Wayne, MD
  • David G. Welch, MD

2015 Award Recipients

AAPM&R Congratulates the 2015 Award Recipients

A Word from 2015 AAPM&R Award Winners