National Internists' Society Launches Physician Payment Commission

On March 5, 2012, the Society of General Internal Medicine (SGIM) announced that it is launching an independent commission to consider physician payment methodologies and the linkages of payment incentives to patient care. The National Commission on Physician Payment Reform will be chaired by Steven Schroeder, M.D., former president of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and professor of health care at the University of California, San Francisco. William "Bill" Frist, M.D., former Republican Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate will serve as the Honorary Chair. The 13-member commission plans to issue report in early 2013. Funding sources for the initiative include the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the California Healthcare Foundation and the Sergei Zlinkoff Fund for Medical Education and Research.

For more information, go to: