Quality & Practice

Stages of Electronic Health Record Meaningful Use

The meaningful use objectives will evolve in three stages:

  • Stage 1: Data capture and sharing
  • Stage 2: Advanced clinical processes
  • Stage 3: Improved outcomes

Applying for the EHR Incentive Program

New CMS Proposed Rule to Provide Eligible Professionals Flexibility to Meet Meaningful Use

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) published a new proposed rule that would provide eligible professionals (EPs) more flexibility in how they use certified electronic health record technology (CEHRT) to meet meaningful use. The proposed rule would let providers use the 2011 Edition CEHRT or a combination of 2011 and 2014 Edition CEHRT for the EHR reporting period in 2014 for the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs.

Check out these resources for more information:

Stage 1:

Meaningful use includes both a core set and a menu set of objectives that are specific to eligible professionals. For eligible professionals, there are a total of 25 meaningful use objectives. To qualify for an incentive payment, 20 of these 25 objectives must be met—

  • 15 required core objectives
  • 5 objectives chosen from a list of 10 menu set objectives

View Stage 1 Requirements.

Stage 1 Resources:

Stage 2:

To demonstrate meaningful use under Stage 2 criteria:

  • EPs must meet 17 core objectives and 3 menu objectives that they select from a total list of 6, or a total of 20 core objectives.

All providers must achieve meaningful use under the Stage 1 criteria before moving to Stage 2.

Stage 2 Resources:

Clinical Quality Measures:

All providers are required to report on CQMs in order to demonstrate meaningful use. Beginning in 2014, all providers regardless of their stage of meaningful use will report on CQMs in the same way.

View more information on Clinical Quality Measures.

  • Stage 1 Requirements: Eligible professionals must report on 6 total clinical quality measures: 3 required core measures (or 3 alternate core measures) and 3 additional measures (selected from a set of 38 clinical quality measures).
  • Stage 2 Requirements: EPs must report on 9 out of 64 total CQMs.

In addition, all providers must select CQMs from at least 3 of the 6 key health care policy domains recommended by the Department of Health and Human Services’ National Quality Strategy:

  • Patient and Family Engagement
  • Patient Safety
  • Care Coordination
  • Population and Public Health
  • Efficient Use of Healthcare Resources
  • Clinical Processes/Effectiveness

CQM Resources

Additional Program Resources