About AAPM&R

About Us


2019 Member Community Leaders

AAPM&R Member Communities are self-identified, organically established communities offering opportunities for members to connect with each other, share experiences, and advance the future of the specialty together! Find more information about Member Communities here.

AAPM&R hosted a self-nomination process for members seeking to be elected as chair and other leadership positions of our Member Communities. Many of the communities had uncontested nominees.   

  • African American Physiatrists - D'Wan Carpenter, DO, MS, FAAPMR
  • Alternative Pain Medicine - Danielle Zelnik, MD, FAAPMR
  • Amputee/Limb Loss Restoration Rehabilitation - Marlis Gonzalez-Fernandez, MD, PhD, FAAPMR
  • Brain Injury Medicine Fellowship Directors - Kirk Lercher, MD, FAAPMR
  • Cancer Rehabilitation Medicine
    • Chair - Ekta Gupta, MD, FAAPMR
    • Vice Chair - Samman Shahpar, MD, FAAPMR
    • Secretary - Leslie Bagay, MD, FAAPMR
    • Vice Secretary - Katherine Power, MD, FAAPMR
  • Central Nervous System
    • Chair - David Ripley, MD, MS, FAAPMR
    • Education Vice Chair - Kristin Caldera, DO, FAAPMR
    • Communications Vice Chair - Cherry Junn, MD, FAAPMR
  • Chicago Physiatrists - Max Fitzgerald, MD, FAAPMR
  • Early-Career Physiatrists - Colleen Sullivan, MD, FAAPMR
  • Exercise as Medicine - Jonathan Whiteson, MD, FAAPMR
  • Geriatric Rehabilitation - Kanakadurg Poduri, MD, FAAPMR
  • Inpatient Rehabilitation - Lauren Shapiro, MD, FAAPMR
  • Intellectual Disability - Priya Chandan, MD MPH, FAAPMR
  • Interventional Pain - David Lee, MD, FAAPMR
  • Kosher Physiatry - Edward Hurvitz, MD, FAAPMR
  • LatinX in Physiatry - Glendaliz Bosques-Mendez, MD, FAAPMR
  • Medical Educators - R. Samuel Mayer, MD, FAAPMR
  • Neuromodulation - Mehul Desai, MD MPH, FAAPMR
  • Neuromuscular Medicine - Shawn Jorgensen, MD, FAAPMR
  • Overhead Athlete - Jason Zaremski, MD, FAAPMR
  • Pain Medicine - Erik Shaw, DO, FAAPMR
  • Para/Adaptive Athletes and Sports - Melissa Tinney, MD, FAAPMR
  • Pediatric Rehabilitation
    • Chair - Joline Brandenburg, MD, FAAPMR
    • Chair Elect - David Berbrayer, MD, FAAPMR
    • Education Vice Chair - Mary Dubon, MD, FAAPMR
    • Communications Vice Chair - Michael Green, DO, FAAPM
  • Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine Current Fellows/Combination Residents and Future Candidates - Theodore Yip, MD,
  • Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine Fellowship Program Director - David Pruitt, MD, FAAPMR
  • Pediatric Sports Medicine - Mary Dubon, MD, FAAPMR
  • Performing Arts Medicine - Lauren Elson, MD, FAAPMR
  • Physiatric Life Care Planners - Sasha Iversen, DO, FAAPMR
  • Regenerative Medicine - Isaac P. Syrop, MD, FAAPMR
  • Research in Physiatry - Heather Vincent, PhD, MS
  • Running Medicine - Kevin Vincent, MD, PhD, FAAPMR
  • Spine Medicine - Aaron Yang, MD, FAAPMR
  • Sports Medicine - Mark Ellen, MD, FAAPMR
  • Sports Medicine Current Fellows and Future Candidates - Stephanie Tow, MD, FAAPMR
  • Sports Medicine Fellowship Directors - Kenneth Mautner, MD, FAAPMR
  • Texas Physiatrists - Jason Marchetti, MD, FAAPMR
  • Women Physiatrists - Mary Russell, DO, MS, FAAPMR
  • Wound Medicine - Mark Griffith, MD, FAAPMR