American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation



9700 W. Bryn Mawr Ave., Suite 200 phone 847/737.6000 Rosemont, Illinois 60018 www.aapmr.org

fax 847/754.4368 info@aapmr.org

September 21, 2018

Dear AAPM&R Colleague:

Your Academy (AAPM&R) understands the time and financial burden Maintenance of Certification® (MOC®) requirements place on physiatrists. For the past 3 years, we have been actively advocating for a more meaningful, less arduous and less costly process on your behalf to the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) and the American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (ABPMR). This includes testifying to the ABMS Board of Directors and numerous meetings and phone calls with ABPMR leadership, voicing the frustration of our members. Despite all these efforts, we are not satisfied with the progress. We have identified specific opportunities for the ABPMR to make changes right now. AAPM&R wants to reiterate and clarify our stance on MOC.

- ABPMR and AAPM&R are separate organizations.
 - The ABPMR/ABMS sets certification and MOC requirements. Once those requirements are set, AAPM&R determines how it can support members in meeting the requirements successfully.
- AAPM&R (Academy) believes Board certification should not be a criterion for medical licensing nor a sole criterion for credentialing and/or privileging.
- AAPM&R does not support MOC in its current structure.
- We urge ABPMR to immediately discontinue the high stakes and expensive Part III exam.
- We urge ABPMR to **immediately suspend** Part IV/PIP.
- We support the **rapid implementation** of a longitudinal formative assessment in lieu of Parts II, III, IV.
- Implementation of the revised structure must:

President

Darryl L. Kaelin, MD President-Elect Peter C. Esselman, MD Vice President Michelle S. Gittler, MD Secretary Jonathan Finnoff, DO Treasurer

Deborah A. Venesy, MD Past President

Steve R. Geiringer, MD

Members-at-Large Charlotte H. Smith, MD D.J. Kennedy, MD

Robert J. Rinaldi, MD Amy J. Houtrow, MD, PhD, MPH

Strategic Coordinating Committee Chairs **Medical Education** Steve Flanagan, MD

Membership Committee Michael Saffir, MD

Quality Policy Practice & Research

Ex-Officio Liaisons to Board of Governors Physiatrist In Training Council Representative Nathaniel V. Zuziak, DO

Stuart M. Weinstein, MD

Thomas E. Stautzenbach, CAE





- **be meaningful** and **demonstrate value** for physiatrists.
- o reduce the financial burden on all physiatrists.
- provide a path for those who are currently MOC
 III eligible to transition so they are not penalized.

We urge you to join the Academy in advocating for changes by **contacting the American Board of PM&R** at <u>office@abpmr.org</u> or by calling (507) 282-1776.

Sincerely,

AAPM&R Board of Governors

A faction Debouar a Jenerghin

Darryl L. Kaelin, MD, FAAPMR President

PAR. Entr

Peter C. Esselman, MD, FAAPMR President-Elect

Michelle S. Gittler, MD, FAAPMR Vice President

Deborah A. Venesy, MD, FAAPMR Secretary

aug

Jonathan Finnoff, DO, FAAPMR Treasurer

tough Joingen no

Steve R. Geiringer, MD, FAAPMR Past President



Amy J. Houtrow, MD, PhD, MPH, FAAPMR Member-at-Large

D.J. Kennedy, MD, FAAPMR Member-at-Large

Robert J. Rinaldi, MD, FAAPMR Member-at-Large

CHSmHL M

Charlotte H. Smith, MD, FAAPMR Member-at-Large

Munagan

Steven R. Flanagan, MD, FAAPMR Medical Education Committee

Scott R. Laker, MD, FAAPMR Quality, Practice, Policy, and Research Committee

Michael Saffir, MD, FAAPMR Membership Committee