Zachary L. McCormick, MD, FAAPMR, Awarded 2018 President’s Citation Award

Members & Publications


December 4, 2018

The President’s Citation Award has been announced for the highest-rated research abstract submitted for the AAPM&R 2018 Annual Assembly.

Winning Abstract: A Randomized Comparative Trial of Medial Branch Nerve Cooled Versus Traditional Radiofrequency Ablation for the Treatment of Zygaphophyseal Joint Pain; 6-Month Outcomes

Lead Author: Zachary L. McCormick, MD, FAAPMR

The Academy presents the annual President’s Citation Award to recognize outstanding research in the field of PM&R. All abstracts and papers submitted to AAPM&R’s Annual Assembly are eligible to win. As the lead author of the 2018 winning abstract, Dr. McCormick receives complimentary registration to AAPM&R’s 2019 Annual Assembly in San Antonio, November 14-17.

Finalists were chosen based on the highest scores received during the abstract review process prior to the Assembly. Final scoring by members of the AAPM&R Evidence Committee was completed after the finalists’ presentations. 

Don’t miss your chance to compete for this award in 2019—check out the Call for Abstracts.


Legislation Introduced to Alleviate Impact of Conversion Factor Cut for 2021

Nov 09, 2020

Last month, two bills were introduced in the House proposing solutions to the estimated 10.6% Physician Fee Schedule conversion factor cut expected to go into effect January 1, 2021.  The bills offer some relief to the cut, but do not reflect a comprehensive or long-term solution.  AAPM&R has therefore chosen to remain neutral regarding these bills. 

Your Academy continues to advocate for a permanent solution to the conversion factor cut while maintaining the important payment increases to office and outpatient evaluation and management services.