Congratulations to 2020 AAPM&R Award Recipients

Members & Publications


August 28, 2020

AAPM&R has an awards program to recognize members who deserve the applause of their peers. Each year, Academy members are asked to submit awards nominations to recognize lifetime achievement, distinguished membership, public service, and pioneering physiatrists, clinicians, and researchers who have made significant contributions to both the specialty and to people with disabilities.

Please join AAPM&R and the Awards Committee in congratulating this year’s AAPM&R awards recipients, who will be honored at the AAPM&R 2020 Annual Assembly.

  • Frank H. Krusen, MD Lifetime Achievement Award: Steve M. Gnatz, MD, MHA, FAAPMR
  • Distinguished Member Award: Joseph E. Burris MD, FAAPMR; Andrea L. Cheville, MD, MSCE, FAAPMR; and Ross D. Zafonte, DO, FAAPMR
  • Distinguished Public Service Award: Stuart J. Glassman MD, MBA, FAAPMR; Julie K. Silver, MD, FAAPMR
  • PASSOR Legacy Award and Lectureship: Monica E. Rho, MD, FAAPMR




Legislation Introduced to Alleviate Impact of Conversion Factor Cut for 2021

Nov 09, 2020

Last month, two bills were introduced in the House proposing solutions to the estimated 10.6% Physician Fee Schedule conversion factor cut expected to go into effect January 1, 2021.  The bills offer some relief to the cut, but do not reflect a comprehensive or long-term solution.  AAPM&R has therefore chosen to remain neutral regarding these bills. 

Your Academy continues to advocate for a permanent solution to the conversion factor cut while maintaining the important payment increases to office and outpatient evaluation and management services.