AAPM&R Members in the News: January 2017

Members & Publications

January 25, 2017

  • Cheri Blauwet, MD, has been voted to the United States Olympic Committee (USOC) Board. Dr. Blauwet is the first person from the Paralympic movement voted to the board. She is also a decorated Paralympic athlete in the sport of wheelchair racing winning a gold, 2 silvers, and a bronze medal over her career. After retiring from competition, Dr. Blauwet has served in a number of roles in the Olympic and Paralympic movement, serving as a member of the International Olympic Committee Medical and Scientific Expert Group, and until September 2016, served as treasurer on the U.S. Anti-Doping Agency board of directors. Congratulations, Dr. Blauwet! Read more.
  • William S. Pease, MD, has been selected as President of the Board of Directors for the American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine (AANEM). Congratulations, Dr. Pease! Read more.
  • Chloe Slocum, MD, recently finished serving on a technical expert panel commissioned by CMS on the Improving Post-Acute Care Transformation (IMPACT) Act. This was the second commissioned meeting to follow-up on the first TEP held in April 2016. Read more.

Do you have a newsworthy story to share with your peers? Send us an email at: pressinquiries@aapmr.org

Legislation Introduced to Alleviate Impact of Conversion Factor Cut for 2021

Nov 09, 2020

Last month, two bills were introduced in the House proposing solutions to the estimated 10.6% Physician Fee Schedule conversion factor cut expected to go into effect January 1, 2021.  The bills offer some relief to the cut, but do not reflect a comprehensive or long-term solution.  AAPM&R has therefore chosen to remain neutral regarding these bills. 

Your Academy continues to advocate for a permanent solution to the conversion factor cut while maintaining the important payment increases to office and outpatient evaluation and management services.