Congratulations to the PM&R Best Paper Award Recipients

Members & Publications

November 11, 2016

PM&R congratulates the recipients of the following 3 Best Paper Awards: 

Foundation for PM&R/ PM&R Best Original Research Award

“Recurrence of Pain After Usual Nonoperative Care for Symptomatic Lumbar Disk Herniation: Analysis of Data From the Spine Patient Outcomes Research Trial”

Pradeep Suri, MD, MS, Adam M. Pearson, MD, MS, Emily A. Scherer, PhD, Wenyan Zhao, PhD, Jon D. Lurie, MD, MS, Tamara S. Morgan, MA, James N. Weinstein, DO, MS

PM&R 2016; 8:405-414

PM&R Best Paper Original Research-International

“Modulation of Cervical Facet Joint Nociception and Pain Attenuates Physical and Psychological Features of Chronic Whiplash: A Prospective Study. “

Ashley Dean Smith, PT, Gwendolen Jull, PhD, Geoff M. Schneider, PhD, Bevan Frizzell, MD, Robert A. Hooper, MD, Michele Sterling, PhD

PM R 2015; 7:913-921.

PM&R Best Young Investigator Original Research Paper

Intrathecal Versus Oral Baclofen: A Matched Cohort Study of Spasticity, Pain, Sleep, Fatigue, and Quality of Life.

Zachary L. McCormick, MD, Samuel K. Chu, MD, Danielle Binler, MS, Daniel Neudorf, DO, Sunjay N. Mathur, MD, Jungwha Lee, PhD, MPH, Christina Marciniak, MD

PM&R 2016; 8:553-562

To view these articles visit

Legislation Introduced to Alleviate Impact of Conversion Factor Cut for 2021

Nov 09, 2020

Last month, two bills were introduced in the House proposing solutions to the estimated 10.6% Physician Fee Schedule conversion factor cut expected to go into effect January 1, 2021.  The bills offer some relief to the cut, but do not reflect a comprehensive or long-term solution.  AAPM&R has therefore chosen to remain neutral regarding these bills. 

Your Academy continues to advocate for a permanent solution to the conversion factor cut while maintaining the important payment increases to office and outpatient evaluation and management services.