Congratulations to Drs. Joseph Burris, Michael Mallow, and James McDeavitt

Members & Publications


November 5, 2020

Congratulations to Joseph E. Burris, MD, FAAPMR, Chair of the Graduate Medical Education (GME) Committee and member of the AAPM&R Medical Education Committee, and Michael K. Mallow, MD, FAAPMR, Chair of the AAP Medical Education Committee, as well as James T. McDeavitt, MD, FAAPMR, Chair of the ABPM&R, for presenting to the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Congress on Common and specialty-specific Program Requirements relating to duties, functions, dedicated time and full-time equivalent (FTE) support for program directors, assistant/associate program directors, program coordinators, and core faculty members! The future of education in physiatry depends on advocacy for graduate medical education and the leaders and administrators for PM&R!

Legislation Introduced to Alleviate Impact of Conversion Factor Cut for 2021

Nov 09, 2020

Last month, two bills were introduced in the House proposing solutions to the estimated 10.6% Physician Fee Schedule conversion factor cut expected to go into effect January 1, 2021.  The bills offer some relief to the cut, but do not reflect a comprehensive or long-term solution.  AAPM&R has therefore chosen to remain neutral regarding these bills. 

Your Academy continues to advocate for a permanent solution to the conversion factor cut while maintaining the important payment increases to office and outpatient evaluation and management services.