Meet the 2019-2020 Member Community Chairs

Members & Publications


September 27, 2019

AAPM&R Member Communities are self-identified, organically established communities offering opportunities for members to connect with each other, share experiences, and advance the future of the specialty together! AAPM&R is pleased to recognize our 2019-2020 Member Community chairs who raised their hands and joined Team Physiatry as Academy volunteers. Add your name to our team roster at

  • D'Wan Carpenter, DO, MS: African American Physiatrists
  • Danielle Zelnick, MD: Alternative Pain Medicine
  • Marlis Gonzalez-Fernandez, MD, PhD; Amputee/Limb Loss Restoration Rehabilitation
  • Kirk Lercher, MD: Brain Injury Medicine Fellowship Directors
  • Ekta Gupta, MD: Cancer Rehabilitation Medicine
  • David Ripley, MD, MS: Central Nervous System
  • Max Fitzgerald, MD: Chicago Physiatrists
  • Colleen Sullivan, MD: Early-Career Physiatrists
  • Jonathan Whiteson, MD: Exercise as Medicine
  • Kanakadurg Poduri, MD: Geriatric Rehabilitation
  • Lauren Shapiro, MD: Inpatient Rehabilitation
  • Priya Chandan, MD, MPH: Intellectual Disability
  • David Lee, MD: Interventional Pain
  • Edward Hurvitz, MD: Kosher Physiatry
  • Glendaliz Bosques-Mendez, MD: LatinX in Physiatry
  • R. Samuel Mayer, MD: Medical Educators
  • Mehul Desai, MD, MPH: Neuromodulation
  • Shawn Jorgensen, MD: Neuromuscular Medicine
  • Jason Zaremski, MD: Overhead Athlete
  • Erik Shaw, DO: Pain Medicine
  • Melissa Tinney, MD: Para/Adaptive Athletes and Sports
  • Joline Brandenburg, MD: Pediatric Rehabilitation
  • Theodore Yip, MD: Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine Current Fellows/Combination Residents and Future Candidates
  • David Pruitt, MD: Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine Fellowship Program Directors
  • Mary Dubon, MD: Pediatric Sports Medicine
  • Lauren Elson, MD: Performing Arts Medicine
  • Sasha Iversen, DO: Physiatry Life Care Planners
  • No Chair: Private Practice Physiatrists
  • Isaac P. Syrop, MD: Regenerative Medicine
  • Heather Vincent, PhD, MS: Research in Physiatry
  • Kevin Vincent, MD, PhD: Running Medicine
  • Aaron Yang, MD: Spine Medicine
  • Mark Ellen, MD: Sports Medicine
  • Kenneth Mautner, MD: Sports Medicine Fellowship Directors
  • Stephanie Tow, MD: Sports Medicine Current Fellows and Future Candidates
  • Jason Marchetti, MD: Texas Physiatrists
  • Mary Russell, DO, MS: Women Physiatrists
  • Mark Griffith, MD: Wound Medicine

Legislation Introduced to Alleviate Impact of Conversion Factor Cut for 2021

Nov 09, 2020

Last month, two bills were introduced in the House proposing solutions to the estimated 10.6% Physician Fee Schedule conversion factor cut expected to go into effect January 1, 2021.  The bills offer some relief to the cut, but do not reflect a comprehensive or long-term solution.  AAPM&R has therefore chosen to remain neutral regarding these bills. 

Your Academy continues to advocate for a permanent solution to the conversion factor cut while maintaining the important payment increases to office and outpatient evaluation and management services.